Slow Cooker Beef Stew.

I got this recipe from allrecipes.com  5 years ago (Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV) and we still really like it. Oddly upon re-reading the recipe when I’m not half asleep at 6am putting into the crock pot I noticed that I mistakenly read 2 cups of water for 10. We added enough other stuff though that it worked though, so I’m just going to roll with it.

3 lbs cubed beef stew meat

2 cups baby carrots

6 medium potatoes, cubed

3 medium onions, sliced

1 tbsp dried parsley

1 tsp ground black pepper

1 packet of dry onion soup mix

9 cups beef broth (this year I made it fresh, typically I buy it)

1 cup red wine

1/2 cup warm water and 4 tbsp all-purpose flour (use cornstarch if making gluten free).

  1. Cut everything up and throw it into the crock pot. (The original recipe has you browning the meat before throwing it in, but at 6am, I do no browning but lots of throwing so I skip this step…)
  2. Pour in broth and wine.
  3. Add in parsley, soup mix, pepper and mix.
  4. Cook on low for 8 hours.
  5. Go to work.
  6. Remember on your way home from work that you don’t have to cook tonight and do a little dance.
  7. Stir together 1/2 cup of water and 4 tbsp of flour. Once completely mixed, add into stew and let simmer for 15ish minutes.
  8. Enjoy!

About lilyfriendlyfood

I'm a 29-year-old mother, wife, and full time employee navigating life with our daughter in tow.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Everyone Friendly., Gen Friendly, Gluten free, Lily Friendly, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Slow Cooker Beef Stew.

  1. Pingback: And I’m back! | Lily friendly food

Leave a comment